Federal-State Relations under the Pakatan Harapan Government

Federal-State Relations under the Pakatan Harapan Government

Tricia Yeoh

Format: Print Book

ISBN: 9789814951135

  • SGD 9.63
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

On 9 May 2018, Malaysia’s Barisan Nasional (BN) government lost the country’s 14th general election (GE14). Replacing it was the Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition, made up of four parties, three of which had had experience cooperating with each other for a decade, namely Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), the Democratic Action Party (DAP) and Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah). The fourth was the new Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) led by Dr Mahathir Mohamad. The election also saw equally significant changes at the state government level. PH now controlled seven states in total, up from two, while BN went from controlling ten states to retaining but two. PAS regained Terengganu and with its control over Kelantan now held the two East Coast states. The Sabah state government, held by Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan) aligned itself with PH, while the Sarawak state government chose to stick with BN.

(Length x Height x Width) in mm :210 x 148
Weight in grams: 150
Author Biography:Tricia Yeoh
Binding: Paperback
Keywords: Political Process / Campaigns & Elections
Page count: 55
Imprint: ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute
Publication Date: 20201016

We Also Recommend