Oskar Klein Memorial Lectures, The - Vol 1: Lectures By C N Yang And S Weinberg

Gosta Ekspong

Format: Print Book

ISBN: 9789810203535

  • SGD 46.01
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

With Translated Reprints by O KleinThe Oskar Klein Memorial Lectures, instituted in 1988 and supported by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences through its Nobel Committee for Physics, are given at Stockholm University in Sweden, where Oskar Klein was professor in Theoretical Physics 1930-1962.Volume 1 contains the 1988 lectures on “Symmetry and Physics” and “From the Bethe-Hulthén Hypothesis to the Yang-Baxter Equation,” given by C N Yang, Nobel Prize winner (1957) and professor at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. The 1989 lectures on “Beyond the Standard Models,” referring to models for cosmology and elementary particles, and on “Precision Tests of Quantum Mechanics” were given by Steven Weinberg, Nobel Prize winner (1979) and professor at the University of Texas at Austin. The volume also contains translations of some of Klein's original papers, one on intermediate charged fields (original in French, 1938), another on five-dimensional quantum theory (”Kaluza-Klein theory,” original in German, 1926). A scientific biography of Klein, written by Professors I. Fischer- Hjalmars and B Laurent, who both knew Klein well, is included as well as an autobiography by Klein.

Format: Paperback
No of Pages: 140
Imprint: World Scientific
Publication date: 19910301

We Also Recommend