Another China Cycle: Committing To Reform

Gungwu Wang

Format: Print Book

ISBN: 9789814522649

  • $26.00
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

The essays in this volume take the 1990s after the 1989 Tiananmen tragedy as its baseline. They consist of ways of looking at China's developmental path during the two decades before and after the turn of the 21st century. This book traces the choices that three generations of Chinese leaders from Deng Xiaoping to Jiang Zemin and Hu Jintao, have made to rebuild China and consolidate the reforms introduced in the late 1970s. It also examines how Chinese leaders are trying to restore China's position in the region; how they are re-connecting with the country's history and re-defining the kind of nation it wants, and also how they hope to establish what they consider to be China's rightful place in the international order.

Format: Paperback
No of Pages: 272
Imprint: World Scientific
Publication date: 20140220

We Also Recommend