Nobel Lectures In Literature (2006-2010)

Nobel Lectures In Literature (2006-2010)

Per Wastberg

Format: Print Book

ISBN: 9789814583114

  • SGD 56.71
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

The great works of world literature contribute to our understanding of history and humanity. The Nobel Prize for literature recognizes modern classics and the efforts of authors to bridge gaps among different countries, cultures, and time periods.List of Nobel laureates, their Prize motivations and Nobel Lectures:2006 — Orhan Pamuk (Turkey) “who in the quest for the melancholic soul of his native city has discovered new symbols for the clash and interlacing of cultures”; Nobel Lecture: My Father's Suitcase; 2007 — Doris Lessing (UK) “that epicist of the female experience, who with scepticism, fire and visionary power has subjected a divided civilisation to scrutiny”; Nobel Lecture: On Not Winning the Nobel Prize; 2008 — Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio (France) “author of new departures, poetic adventure and sensual ecstasy, explorer of a humanity beyond and below the reigning civilization”; Nobel Lecture: In the Forest of Paradoxes; 2009 — Herta Müller (Germany) “who, with the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose, depicts the landscape of the dispossessed”; Nobel Lecture: Every Word Knows Something of a Vicious Circle; 2010 — Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru) “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat”; Nobel Lecture: In Praise of Reading and Fiction.

Format: Hardcover
No of Pages: 104
Imprint: World Scientific
Publication date: 20140821

We Also Recommend